Don’t Hire a DUI Attorney in Phoenix Until You Read This!

Defend your rights. We’ve helped hundreds of clients.

Please answer a few questions to help us understand your needs.

    What happens when you get a DUI in AZ?

    If this is your first crime, you will be imprisoned for at least 10 days and fined at least $1,250 {1}. You’ll also have to go through an alcohol screening, education, and treatment program, as well as install a certified ignition interlock device in each car you drive. You will also be required by the court to perform community service.

    Does a DUI ruin your life?

    A DUI does not have to be a life-changing event. You might be able to continue on with your life with minimal alteration if you hire a lawyer, defend your case, and negotiate a favorable outcome. You won’t even have a DUI on your record if your lawyer can win your case and get the charges dismissed.

    How does having a DUI Affect You?

    If you are convicted of a DUI, you will get jail time, more if you have previously been convicted. Even for a first-time DUI, fines can be substantial. You will almost certainly lose your driver’s license for a period of time, which will get longer with each subsequent conviction.

    Is jail time mandatory for DUI in Arizona?

    Yes. Under Arizona’s DUI statutes {2}, you are required to serve time in jail. However, in 2012, the Arizona legislature modified the statute to allow for shorter time in imprisonment than was previously required.

    How many points is a DUI in Arizona?

    DUI convictions in AZ cost 8 points against your license. It also carries an automatic license suspension, a minimum of 10 days in jail, community service, and a minimum fine of $1,250.

    Is getting a DUI a big deal?

    A DUI conviction is a serious matter, and if you’re not concerned about the potential of crashing and killing someone while inebriated, the financial consequences may be enough to discourage you. As you can see, drinking and driving entails far more than a mere fine.

    Will a DUI affect me getting a job?

    Although a DUI is a criminal offense, it is frequently treated as a traffic infraction by employers. Employers must examine criminal convictions in light of the task at hand, according to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission {3}. Most employers are unable to ethically dismiss you because of a DUI because it is not immediately applicable to all positions.

    How can I get out of my first DUI?

    Skilled Phoenix DUI attorneys can help you get out of a DUI charge by discovering reasonable questions or legal defects in the evidence that would allow you to be convicted under Arizona law. Inaccurate breathalyzer BAC testing, police report errors, a variety of medical issues, and inappropriate police procedure can all be utilized in court to get out of a DUI.

    Why are DUIs so expensive?

    Bail, car towing or impound costs, court charges, legal fees, DUI education programs, higher insurance rates, probation fees, drug and alcohol assessment and counseling, license reinstatement fees, and loss of job income are just some of the costs involved with a DUI conviction.

    How likely is jail time for first DUI in Arizona?

    Jail time is mandatory in Arizona for a first-time DUI. A first-time offender faces the following penalties: A minimum of 24 hours in jail and a maximum of 6 months in prison is the penalty (the minimum sentence is 10 days in jail, where 9 days of the jail sentence may be suspended) A $250 basic fine, with total fines and costs of up to $2,500.

    How long does DUI stay on record in Arizona?

    The points from a DUI will stay on your record for 3 years. However, from a legal consideration of additional DUIs, the DUI will stay on your record for 5 years.

    Can I get a DUI expunged in Arizona?

    A DUI expungement can be obtained through the court system. This will clear your record with the Arizona Department of Public Safety and the FBI. According to ARS 13-907, this technique is known in Arizona as ‘setting aside.’ When you finish your term, you can ask the court to have your conviction set aside under ARS 13-907.

    Footnotes

    1. ADOT “Driving Under the Influence” Website at https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/driver-improvement/driving-under-influence-dui

    2. Arizona State Legislature “Driving or actual physical control while under the influence” Website at https://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/01381.htm

    3. US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission “What You Should Know: The EEOC and Arrest and Conviction Records” Website at https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/guidance/what-you-should-know-eeoc-and-arrest-and-conviction-records

    To repeat:

    What happens when you get a DUI in AZ?

    For a first-time DUI in the state of Arizona, you are going to be imprisoned for a minimum of 10 days and will need to pay a fine to the state of at least $1,250 {1}. Alcohol screening, a treatment and education program will be mandatory. In every car you drive, you will be required to install and continue to use the certified ignition interlock device to stop you from driving in case you have been drinking. You will also be required to perform community service by the court. Failing to fulfill the community service order will bring about further consequences.

    Does a DUI ruin your life?

    A DUI can be a life-changing event, especially if an accident caused by it resulted in someone's very serious injury or death. However, if that's not the case, it doesn't have to be life-changing. You might move forward with your life with minimal consequences if you hire a lawyer, defend your case, and negotiate a favorable outcome. The DUI won't even be on your record if your lawyer can get the charges dismissed.